117
Liked it
Comments (19)

The King’s Speech: A Movie Review

The future King of England works on the personal problems causing his stuttering problem with a pioneering speech therapist. During his slow and difficult efforts Hiter is rising. He would be called upon by events beyond his control to give the speech decaring England’s war against Hitler. But would he only make a fool out of himself and all concerned? There was no way out.

 I went to see The King’s Speech today. You may know it is a movie about King George of England who became king just before England answered Hitler by declaring war. He was not his father’s first born son, but Edward had abdicated in order to marry a lady who had been divorced twice and could not be Queen for that reason, and George was the next in line. The story was mainly about George’s terrible stuttering and his relationship with a pioneering speech therapist. It was looking more and more like George would have to give the  speech on the radio declaring England at war with Hitler, as events unfolded during his struggle to overcome his problem, but there was much doubt about his capacity to do so without making a clown out of all concerned. His stuttering problem was that bad.  But between the two of them, the therapist and the determined student,  King George managed to publicly declare war via the radio when called upon to do so. George described Hitler as driven by a primitive “Might is right” philosophy and stated that all peaceful means of stopping the violence were to no avail and there was no choice left but all out war. Such a philosophy and the violence of its proponents should not be allowed to decide the future of the world, King George asserted. In the movie, the soundtrack of the actual speech was played and it really was a great piece of oratory. All the high ranking advisers and the people of England were amazed that King George did so well and took it as a good sign that they would win, and thus were greatly encouraged to lay hands to the terrifying effort.


       

                         

                                                 The Kings Speech

                                                        $12.38

|RSSReceive our RSS Feed

Tags: , ,

19 Comments
  1. Mary
    Posted February 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    But did you like the movie?

  2. Posted February 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Yep, Mary. I was very inspired by it, as a handicapped person myself. The acting was very good. The guy who played the king did a very good job of giving him lots of dimention and made him look very human as well as naturally suited to be king. I could almost put myself in his place, though I am far from high born. The Speech Therapist was also very believable.

  3. Posted February 28, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I want to see this now, havent heard of many films like this

  4. Posted February 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I never saw the movie but your review told me what I needed to know. Because of my handicap I will impatiently wait until the DVD comes out. I did see the movie Helen Keller however and watched her overcome a mulitude of handicaps. The most endearing movies for me are about those overcoming handicaps & and the Kings Speech sounds like my kind of movie. Thanks for the review. Proir to this I knew nothing about it.
    darklin

  5. littledog
    Posted February 28, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    That sounds like a movie worth watching. I hope Netflix has it soon.

  6. Posted February 28, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    youthinksokiddo, thanks. I think you will enjoy it.

  7. Posted February 28, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Hi littledog and darklin. The movie lasts in your mind for a long while. The acting was terrific.

  8. David Bunch
    Posted March 1, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Thank you for the fine review. You have piqued my interest in seeing the movie now. It sounds very interesting.

  9. Posted March 1, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Thank you, David. I enjoyed it a lot.

  10. Posted March 3, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I don’t know, the movie doesn’t seems to be so interesting.

    these “oscar” movies disappoint me often.

  11. Posted March 3, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Hi, seiva7. It is good to hear from you. Yes, it doesn’t rock like a shoot-em-up. No dancing or partying. The interesting part is the psychological protrait of Bernie, who later becomes King Gerorge, and the earth shaking circumstances that develope at the same time and how they tie in with the progress of his speech therapy work. It is very psychological, but not at all like a cloak and dagger thriller. Thanks for your comment. If you are inerested in Psychology you probably would like this movie anyway.

  12. Posted March 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    hollywood , bollywood , lollywood , tamil , telgu and other hindi movie reviews

  13. Posted March 6, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Thanks for the review. The film is doing very well.

  14. Posted March 6, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    You are welcome, LadyElana. I enjoyed it a lot. Say hello to the Queen for me.

  15. Posted May 3, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I have not seen this picture yet…probably when it comes out to rent!

  16. Posted May 12, 2011 at 2:51 am

    That was one amazing movie! And an amazing review by you as well. Cheers.

  17. Posted May 16, 2011 at 9:21 am

    good post

  18. Posted May 16, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I liked this movie,although it’s not following historical facts thoroughly…Great actors,as well-Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush were amazing!

  19. Posted April 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I saw it too I really liked it hope you are having a great wkd ^_^

Post Comment
comments powered by Disqus